EXOR Deaf Monkey

OK so my name is Chris, and I am 17 (I turn 18 September 24th) I have been playing video games all my life. I started out on Duke Nukem with a dial up connection and moved onto bigger and better games. I now play Forza Motorsport 2 (proud no-assist user!) and America's Army on PC. I play other games occasionally, but those are my two main games.

I was born in San Jose, California and I've lived here my whole life. I was born hard of hearing, and growing up I used hearing aids. I could hear just fine, I acted, spoke and felt like a normal hearing person. I talked on the phone, I didn't have to read lips, NONE of that bs. When I was 11, I suddenly lost ALL of my hearing. The doctors never did figure out what happened… but anyway, I went on to get a Cochlear Implant which is a very high tech. hearing aid. Info. can be read here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cochlear_implant It is a very fascinating thing! With this implant, I was able to hear things just as good before, but unfortunately, I have a hard time understanding voices. I have to rely on lip reading a LOT more now, and I cannot understand people over the phone or Xbox Live. That's OK though, as long as I can hear I am happy.

I LOVE music. I listen to a lot of different kinds of music, but I listen mostly to metal. I enjoy listening to quite a few different kinds of metal, but my favorites are power metal and progressive metal. Iced Earth, Gojira, Buckethead, Demon Hunter, Iron Maiden, and Mastodon.. just to name a few bands I listen to.

I race Go-Peds (stand up scooters) and Go-Karts occasionally. My whole family actually does this, and we even have a team. We would be into bigger things if we could afford it.

I am in stage 4 renal failure, and the doctors say that I will be receiving a transplant sometime within the next year. So far, my dad is a perfect match. Because of this, I have VERY little energy to do physical things, which is why I stopped BMX racing and got into Go-Peds.

I have a beautiful girlfriend who I met almost two years ago. She is hard of hearing, and also talks on the phone with no problem. Things have been pretty serious between us and I am certain this is the girl I want to spend the rest of my life with. She understands me and my deafness, and she really would do anything for me.

I am currently enrolled at CCOC in the Welding/Metal Fabrication class. It is my 2nd year there (2 year class). I enjoy welding and just making things with metal. One possibility for my future occupation is metal fabrication. I'm just not sure if I want to do it long term, but I definitely plan on doing it for a couple years while I am in college. It pays good money, and I enjoy doing it so why not?? Another thing I may pursue is some sort of degree in business management. I've always wanted to run my own shop and this could be a good start.

I drive a silver 2000 Mazda Protege. It isn't the fastest car in the world (one of my Go-Peds could probably beat it 0-60 mph), but it gets good gas mileage which is all I care about right now.

Here are some pictures… I'll make this part better later on.

Add a New Comment
Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License